What’s up with those knob bottles?!

If you follow me on social media, you’ve probably seen me post a bunch of pictures of these water bottles (“bidons”, if you prefer):

DSC_0223

You may even recognize that image from your stock collection of iPhone emojis. Apple calls the image “knobs”, but if you’ve been around the New England crit scene you may know it to represent “dialed”.

My own experience with the term dates back… well, for as long as I’ve been part of the B2C2 crew. Rumor has it, the provenance dates to the White Plains criterium some years ago. History aside, it’s come to mean, well, DIALED. Like, when you’re dialed in.

I thought it about time this critical image of NE crit racing get memorialized onto merch that will last long beyond the lifetime of this particular emoji. So here we are. Four colors of bottles and a frame sticker to match.

Right now I have a couple dozen of each color. There’s a fancy webstore set up here: STORE. When they’re gone, they’re gone. Never to be ordered again.

Now that my own offseason is over, I’m stoked to get DIALED too.

20180127_140144

Leave a comment